Can't access RP using Port Forwarding

Can't access your home PC, or stream from it over the Internet? Need to forward ports? Post your problems here, exchange tips and read the FAQ about how to get things working.
Forum rules
No spamming, flaming or excessive self-promotion.

Can't access RP using Port Forwarding

Postby Yan Scutt » Wed Aug 10, 2011 2:00 am

Hello, I just installed the newest version of RP (0.89.3.3). I am new to RP, but I was able to set-up most of the software without any issues. However, I am having trouble with the most important piece: Port Forwarding. I can access the RP Silverlight screen if I type in my PC's local LAN IP address plus the ":9080" port address. However, when I try to access RP over the internet, I get "website not available" in IE8 or "error 405- customized server only allows Get and Post" in Chrome. Here's what I've done to try to resolve the problem:

First, I made sure my router (an AirLink 430W) was set-up to forward ports 9080 and 9081 to my PC's local IP (192.168.1.101).
Second, I double-checked that the port was open using PFPortChecker.exe.
Third, I set-up a free dynamic DNS host at dyndns.org.
Fourth, I set-up DDNS on my router.

Now, if I go to my DDNS URL (xxx.dyndns.org) I am taken to my router's log-in page. However, if I go to xxx.dyndns.org:9080 I get the error message above. Also, if I type in my router's current dynamic external IP address plus the port address (XX.XXX.XX.XX:9080) I get the same error message.

WTF? I'm I doing something wrong? It seems like I've checked all the possible problems! Does any one have any ideas for what I should try next?

Thanks!!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------
classic wii controller
Wii Steering Wheel
Wii Remote Controller
wii motion plus
Yan Scutt
Raw Potato

Re: Can't access RP using Port Forwarding

Postby PeeWee » Wed Aug 10, 2011 5:05 am

Hi Yan,

Thanks for trying out Remote Potato.