Connectivity Problem

Can't access your home PC, or stream from it over the Internet? Need to forward ports? Post your problems here, exchange tips and read the FAQ about how to get things working.
Forum rules
No spamming, flaming or excessive self-promotion.

Connectivity Problem

Postby ianc500 » Wed Sep 14, 2011 1:05 pm

Hi
First appologies for probably a total noob question, here goes-

Im having trouble accessing my Remote Potato Server, in general!
When I attempt a local or Internet login via my Iphone App I receive a "Failed to login - please check server settings" message, also via via the Iphone's safari browser I receive a "Incoorect details, please try again" message.
Now when I try to access the server via my local machine i attempt to login and the login screen wont accept either.

I checked the details im entering is correct against the setup login details in Remote Potato but im still comming a cropper.

I'm dying to get going with this App it seems brilliant. Any help greatly appreciated.

Ian
OS: Windows 7 Media Centre
Router: LINKSYS CISCO router (set up with single port 9080 & range 9081-9083)
ianc500
New Potato
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 12:36 pm

Re: Connectivity Problem

Postby ianc500 » Thu Sep 15, 2011 11:32 am

Heres a print screen of the log if helpful....
Attachments
Untitled.jpg
Untitled.jpg (185.03 KiB) Viewed 4529 times
ianc500
New Potato
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 12:36 pm

Re: Connectivity Problem

Postby andreaseide » Thu Sep 15, 2011 6:59 pm

Hi.
Can you try to disable security?
You do this by stopping the server, clicking Run setup wizard an unchecking enable security.
Start the server again.
--AndreasE--
Remote Potato Forum Moderator.

FAQ: How to post debug logs | How to clear your browser cache
User avatar
andreaseide
Wise Potato
 
Posts: 399
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 7:25 pm
Location: Trondheim, Norway

Re: Connectivity Problem

Postby ianc500 » Thu Sep 15, 2011 7:26 pm

Thanks Andreaseide, I removed security as you suggested, and hey presto I'm working. Remote & local access from IPhone & PC working.
Does this unfortunatly mean my beloved HTPC is vulnerable?
I am on a static IP so I'm not using the DNS routing option for access.

Ian

Ps. This is the icing on my HTPC cake!!
ianc500
New Potato
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 12:36 pm


Return to Support - Streaming / Network / Connectivity

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron